High on Photography…

taking another path …

7 responses

  1. Lovely invitation extended by the small foreground tree with wind swept leaves frozen in their final days…

    November 6, 2015 at 8:23 am

    • Dr. Denny Wilkins

      Thank you, Dawn …

      November 9, 2015 at 11:35 am

  2. The light here is awesome. And it also points to something I’d never have thought about before I started shooting. With a shot like this, where the scene is dominated by a glow (in this case, the orange), how much is “real” and how much isn’t, and how much do you pull back using the correct color cast tool? I think I wrestle with that slider more than just about any other on shots like this, and for me it’s tough because my instinctive bias is often too cool.

    November 8, 2015 at 11:13 am

    • Dr. Denny Wilkins

      It doesn’t look it, but I used the Midnight filter in ColorEfex Pro here. It’s really quite versatile. As for color bias, it’s autumn, so I run warm. In the winter, I slide to cooler color temps.

      November 9, 2015 at 11:43 am

      • Uhhh. Midnight? How?

        November 11, 2015 at 7:39 pm

  3. Dr. Denny Wilkins

    Go look at the sliders. Among them is “brighten.” Play with them.

    November 11, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Leave a Reply

